• linkedin
  • google

Kentucky Derby Schedule

Today, let’s talk some ponies. 

The 2011 Kentucky Derby takes place this weekend.  The race takes place at Churchhill Downs in Louisville Kentucky and has been an annual event taking place on the first Saturday in May since 1875.  The Kentucky Derby is a Grade I stakes races for three-year-old thoroughbred horse.  The race track is one and a quarter mile and the race usually starts and ends within two minutes.  The grand prize purse is $2million and the first prize is $1.425.  Not bad for a 2 minute event.  Typically 155,000 fans attend the event, sometimes if only for the fashion (giant hats anyone?) and mint juleps.   The Derby is only the first even of the United States Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing and is trailed by the Preakness Stakes then the Belmont Stakes.   The lucky horse must win all three events in order to take the Triple Crown Title.

The Contenders are as follows:

Horse Trainer Jockey Owner
Twinspired Mike Maker Mike Smith Alpha Stables, Skychai Racing, and Sand Dollar Sta
Shackleford Dale Romans Jesus Castanon Mike Lauffer and Bill Cubbedge
Uncle Mo Todd Pletcher John Velazquez Repole Stable
Dialed In Nicholas P. Zito Julien Leparoux Robert LaPenta
Archarcharch William H Fires Jon Court Robert and Val Yagos
Comma To The Top Peter Miller Corey Nakatani Gary Barber, Roger Birnbaum, Kevin Tsujihara
Tobys Corner H. Graham Motion Eddie Castro Dianne Cotter
Pants On Fire Kelly Breen Anna Napravnik George and Lori Hall
Midnight Interlude Bob Baffert Victor Espinoza Arnold Zetcher
Soldat Kiaran McLaughlin Alan Garcia Harvey Clarke & W Craig Robertson III
Brilliant Speed Tom Albertrani Joel Rosario Live Oak Plantation
Master of Hounds Aidan O’Brien TBA Mrs. John Magnier
Twice the Appeal Jeff Bonde Christian Santiago Reyes Edward
Mucho Macho Man Kathy Ritvo Rajiv Maragh Reeves Thoroughbred Racing & Dream Team Racing Sta
Decisive Moment Juan Arias Kerwin Clark Just for Fun Stables (Ruben Sierra)
Animal Kingdom H. Graham Motion Alan Garcia Team Valor International
Stay Thirsty Todd Pletcher Ramon Dominguez Repole Stable
Santiva Eddie Kenneally Shaun Bridgmohan Tom Walters
Watch Me Go Kathleen O’ Connell Luis Garcia Gilbert Campbell
Anthonys Cross Eoin Harty Joel Rosario A D K Racing
Nehro Steve Asmussen Corey Nakatani  



May 4 4:00-5:00pm Derby Classics Churchill Downs Versus
  5:00-6:00pm Derby Post Position Draw Churchill Downs Versus
May 5 4:00-5:00pm Derby Classics Churchill Downs Versus
  5:00-6:00pm Derby Access Churchill Downs Versus
May 6 4:00-5:00pm Derby Classics Churchill Downs Versus
  5:00-6:00pm Kentucky Oaks 137 Churchill Downs Versus
May 7  5:00-7:00pm Kentucky Derby 137 Churchill Downs NBC
May 21 4:30-5:00pm Thoroughbred Classics: Preakness Stakes Pimlico Race Course ESPN
  5:00-6:30pm Preakness Stakes 136 Pimlico Race Course NBC
June 11 5:00-6:30pm Belmont Stakes 143 Belmont Park NBC